This is New

Today is my 28th name day. Usually, when you have arbitrarily assigned dates to commemorate they bring forth a yearning for introspection. Last year, my birthday was, in all honesty, situated in a time of change. I had been discharged from the army, I had moved into an apartment with my boyfriend (sans roommates), and I was on a new and exciting academic path.

On the surface, this year felt like baby steps, nothing monumental happened, nothing extraordinary to write home about. But when I dug a bit deeper I realized that when people ask me how I am, I can answer truthfully that I am well. Which is pretty damn amazing. I’m not saying the world has become a better place to live in (by all accounts, it has only deteriorated), but I am content in my little microcosm (oh, the redundancy). Sure, there are days that are off-putting, but they are vastly out numbered by their counterparts.

I am nearing the frightful age of thirty, a curse that has plagued many of my friends, so the mental accounting is on an ever larger scale. Here are some of the things I would like to achieve before I am to be cast away on an iceberg:

    • Run a 5k without wanting to keel over and die from exhaustion.
    • Solve the New York Times’ Sunday Crossword. My personal best is at 45% at the moment.
    • Find an idea for my thesis, in the hopes that it is worth the time it takes to write it.
    • Sail on the coasts of the Mediterranean sea, and when I say sail I mean sit on a yacht and bathe in the sun while the bf does everything.
    • See Pearl Jam live one more time and this time around try not to get trampled by an overzealous spaniard.

As you can see, some of these are easier to accomplish and some require more will and determination, but the important element is that I know that if I really want them to happen, they will.

I don’t think I’ve ever written anything as optimistic as this post. It’s seems the holiday spirit has taken over me, I wish the same to you – Happy Passover everyone!

This entry was posted in jabber and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

