My 30 Day Challenge – The End of Eating Out

My previous post created some interesting ideas about what my 30 day challenge might be (optimistic blogging, yoga, indulging my boyfriend, contacting old acquaintances, etc). I will probably try more than a few of them out in the following months.

Yesterday was my second attempt at baking, ever, and it turned out pretty well (more on that later). It got me thinking that I just might be able to feed myself, if I actually tried to.

A Sneak Peek

Therefore, I’ve decided I’m going to try and make my own food for an entire month. That is, no eating-out\ordering-in of any sorts for the next 30 days. And as per every rule this one has some exceptions:

  • Ordering coffee or beer when going out with friends is acceptable, since this is a no-food challenge, not a “don’t meet your friends or have any fun” challenge.
  • Going to dinner with the boyfriend on his birthday is nonnegotiable.

I think the benefits from this will be thrice-fold: health-wise, pocket-wise and learning to cook-wise. I could be wrong on all accounts, spending my days eating nothing but expensive chocolate.

I’ve already made myself a list of recipes I would like to try out, and I’ll update whether any of them turn out exceptionally well.

Here’s the one that got me thinking in the first place [adapted from Annie’s Eats]:

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Muffins

Ingredients:
2 ¼ cups all-purpose flour
2 tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. salt
2/3 cup brown sugar
85 grams of butter, melted and cooled
2/3 cup peanut butter (The original recipe calls for ½ a cup, but people commented they couldn’t taste the peanut butter so I opted for more. I also used natural peanut butter with no-added sugar or oil)
2 large eggs
1 cup milk
¾ cup chocolate chips

 Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 190°.  Line a muffin pan with 12 paper liners.
  2.  In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt and brown sugar.  Set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, whisk together the melted butter, peanut butter, eggs and milk until smooth.  Add in the flour mixture and stir until just combined (Watch out to not over-mix or the muffins will be too dense).  Stir in chocolate chips.  Divide batter evenly between prepared muffin tins, filling each to the top.
  4. Bake for 17-20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Allow to cool for 5 minutes in the pan, then remove to a wire rack to cool completely.

You can keep the muffins in an airtight container in room temperature for up to 3 days. Although I doubt they’ll be there for that long. [They DO taste the best the first few hours]

This entry was posted in jabber, recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My 30 Day Challenge – The End of Eating Out

  1. Khan says:

    Jolly good! Splendid idea! You should always cook for more people and invite them over. That way you’re still. social and not tempted to eat out. Carry on!

  2. Khan says:

    Also, them are good muffins.

  3. זהר says:

    איך הולך לך מותק?
    את מצליחה לעמוד ביעדים שלך?

Leave a Reply

